DOST-ASTI’s ASTROS Team among the 2019 Presidential Lingkod Bayan Awardees

11 Sep 2019 11:34 AM

From L-R: CSC Chairperson Alicia dela Rosa-Bala; Philippine President Rodrigo Roa Duterte; Engr. Alvin Retamar (Chief SRS); Engr. Gerwin Guba (Supervising SRS); Engr. Joven Javier (Sr. SRS); Maria Cristina Manuel (Science Research Specialist II); Engr. Harold Bryan S. Paler (Sr. SRS)

City of ManilaThe Advanced Space Technology Research and Services (ASTROS) Team of DOST-Advanced Science and Technology Institute is among the recipients of the 2019 Presidential Lingkod Bayan Award held at the Malacañan Palace on 10 September 2019. 

The ceremony is part of the 2019 Outstanding Government Workers Award annually administered by the Civil Service Commission (CSC). Philippine President Rodrigo Duterte himself conferred the Presidential Lingkod Bayan, Dangal ng Bayan, and Pagasa awards to public servants who have rendered exemplary work performance and outstanding contributions in the government service. 

The ASTROS Team is recognized for their groundbreaking contributions to the Philippine Space Technology placing the country in the space technology map through the development of DIWATA-1 and 2, the country’s first microsatellite(s) and the Philippine Earth Data Resource Observation (PEDRO) Center as the country’s first ground receiving station for earth observation data; thereby making data and image generation possible for weather forecasting, disaster risk management, agricultural growth pattern detection, forest cover monitoring, cultural and historical sites monitoring, and territorial border protection.  

The ASTROS Team of DOST-ASTI brings the value of space to the Philippines through projects and activities that have nationwide impact and multi-sectoral importance. It seeks to serve the public interest apart from extending benefits to various government agencies.  ASTROS has uniquely contributed towards public service and, to a certain degree, can be considered as one of the pioneering teams in the country’s space program initiatives. 

There's a limit on the number of nominees but that doesn't preclude us from nominating equally worthy individuals or teams in the succeeding years. This is not only our team's effort, there are many people who helped us through the process.

Congratulations to Engr. Alvin Retamar (Chief SRS); Engr. Gerwin Guba (Supervising SRS), Maria Cristina Manuel (Science Research Specialist II); Engr. Joven Javier (Sr. SRS); Engr. Harold Bryan S. Paler (Sr. SRS) of the ASTROS Team! Congratulations, DOST-ASTI!